Assistive Technology: How does it help?

For many years, in my division, assistive technology really meant that students could be issued a laptop that was designated for only their use. While this is a great use of technology, I did not realize the amount of other assistive technology that was out there! Students that were issued laptops were typically issued headphones that had microphones attached or two separate pieces. As we have advanced our technology and as students grow older, the headsets and mics have been phased out. Students usually have their own sleeker versions. 

I have often used many different programs for students as part of best practices; however, they are considered Assistive Technology. For example, Google Read&Write is an extension on Chromebook that I teach my students to use. This extension has the ability to make web articles accessible to all students. Students can enable the text-to-speech function so they can listen while reading along; text and picture dictionary for words that need explaining; word prediction when writing; speech to text to dictate writing; collect highlights from documents or the web when researching; and copy summarize text to new page without ads that can be distracting for students.

In the school I am in now, each of our classrooms is equipped with a sound system, including two different mics. One is to wear around your neck like a necklace, the other is a headset, like Madonna or Britney Spears wear. We choose the one to wear around our necks as it is the easiest to wear. However, this is one of the best Assistive Technologies that I have been able to use. I also teach in a double classroom with another teacher and 57 students. Using the mic eliminates the need to speak loudly all day long; all students can hear me, no matter where they are sitting in the classroom; and for the sake of fitting in, no student needs to feel different from anyone else because of a piece of equipment.

With many, many EAL learners in my school and classroom, I have noticed students bringing their own Assistive technology that our division has never provided. Several students have brought to school Cpens. They have shown me the functions and how they assist them everyday. Knowing the number of EAL students in our school system, it would be great if more students could have access to these. Several students also have their own phones with apps installed that will allow them to take a picture of a document and translate immediately to their native language. 

Assistive technology helps to level the playing field for students, like glasses do for people that need them. As it is evolving, software, apps and cheaper hardware is making assistive technology more accessible to students and school divisions. On the other hand, computers, FM systems, sound systems and newer tech like Cpens are expensive. It is up to the student and teacher to work together to find out what is needed and works best.

Author: bmcfetridge

Hi! I am a teacher with Regina Public Schools. I am currently working on my Masters in the Teach, Lead, Learn program at the University of Regina. I have two children that keep me on my toes and running. Good thing I have a very supportive and encouraging husband, Kyle.

2 thoughts on “Assistive Technology: How does it help?”

  1. Thanks for sharing and I am glad you learned from our presentation! There are so many forms of assistive technology out there…which I did not know either!

    I also did not even think of the microphone as assistive technology until you brought it up. I also used to use one of those when I was teaching in the newer schools. I wish every school/teacher had access to it. But again, a downfall or limitation to this technology would be the money. Is it affordable to purchase mics for every classroom within our division?

    Like

  2. Hi Brianne,

    I am so curious about the Cpens. I just went to an accreditation seminar this last week where teachers were raving about the impact of Cpens for their students. And one of our facilitators daughters has one to help with her learning disability. I was so intrigued to learn more about them, and I’ll have to do my own research as well on them. I did see that they are quite expensive! Luckily, some of the teachers said that their division had actually covered the cost of them.

    Very cool tools!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started